Posted by: Karen | November 28, 2004

Feeling Better

I actually had a good sleep last night, for the first time in a few nights, and am feeling less congested and more energetic today. I’m pacing myself, so as not to negate all the rest time I’ve put in over the last few days, but feeling good.

I toasted up a pile of hazelnuts while mixing up a batch of bread earlier today. The hazelnuts are for some upcoming Christmas baking, so hopefully I won’t eat them all before I get them baked into something. Bread set to rise, hazelnuts with their skins rubbed off and set to cool, I joyfully changed into exercise clothes and went OUT THE DOOR.

I couldn’t help it. The sun was shining and a light breeze tugged playfully at my hair. I sucked in spearmint-fresh air at just above freezing and took great strides away from my home. I made myself walk the first kilometer, as I didn’t want to overdo it, but I swung my arms and marvelled at the freedom of forward movement.

I crossed the boulevard and headed on a slight downhill toward one of my favourite little valleys. I gently jogged for 2 minutes, walked for 2, and then happily ran down a little 1 minute hill and jogged along the bottom for another minute. The view of my blue, hazy Rocky Mountains greeted me, and I was very happy to be outside and breathing deeply.

I climbed a little hill back up to my neighborhood and walked the rest of the way home, for a mini-work-out of 25 minutes.

I drank some fruit juice, punched down and shaped the bread, had a shower and settled down for a handful of toasted hazelnuts and a honey sandwich. Now the bread’s out and a chicken’s a-roasting. All the talk of Thanksgiving down south has given me a hankering for roast poultry, mashed potatoes and gravy.

I am more thankful for my health, even with this nasty cold.

” We would never learn to be brave and patient if there were only joy in the world” – Helen Keller

Responses

  1. Hand kneaded bread, roast hazelnuts, and roast chicken? Mmmmmmmmm!
    OK, that’s it! I’m going to your house next Thanksgiving. 🙂

  2. Mmmm, sounds like a delightful day.

  3. Actually, I have a heavy-duty mixer for the bread kneading, but I do give it a few finishing nudges after it comes out of the mixer. My family is absolutely addicted to my 60% whole wheat – Atkins wouldn’t stand a chance here.

    I forgot to mention that we had chocolate pudding cake for dessert, with cream over top. Man, did I need to feel good or what…

  4. Thanks for the advice…you are probably right. I’m still figuring out how much running is good for me.

  5. Isn’t it wonderful not to be able not to run? Sounds like a great time.

  6. yay for you! Glad you’re feeling better. 🙂


Categories

