Posted by: Karen | November 18, 2004

The Main Thing

“The main thing is to keep the main thing the main thing.” – Stephen Covey

What’s my main running thing again? Run forever, so I can win age group medals in the 90+ age group category. Motivate myself to do the above by having fun while challenging myself to run faster* and farther** while I am still young.

* Sub-60 10k.
Because I know I am capable of it, and it is an absolute, non-negotiable, personal pre-requisite to training for a

**Marathon (did I say that out loud?) M*
before I turn 40.

My main thing this Sunday is to run a sub-60 minute 10k. No jingle bell hats. No chatting with other runners. No walking through water stops.

Breathe. Run. Shatter the PR!

Responses

  1. go go go karen!

    awesome goals! good luck with the 10k!

  2. Indeed! Obliterate that old PR!

    Uh, but the jingle bell hat is ok before the race. 🙂

  3. Awwwaa.. Why not?
    😎
    Go for it Karen !
    Might I also suggest you put in a ULTRA before bumping up to age 50.

  4. I don’t see why you can’t hit both of those goals. I mean, I don’t know how old you are, but you can go from 10k to a marathon in six months if you’re just trying to “finish” the marathon rather than going for a great finishing time the first time around.

    That 10k sounds like it will be a lot of fun though, because you’ll be racing it instead of simply running it. And that’s all sorts of fun. Good luck!

  5. go, Karen, go. Go. Go.
    And, BTW, you would SO smoke me in a 10K, and we’re in the same age group now! My PR is only 1:06, I believe. And I’m, sshhhh, training for a M-word! A SLOW one, but anyhoo!


Categories

