Posted by: Karen Cooksley | November 29, 2012

Snowy Commute and Run 148

This morning I awoke to -13C and light snowfall. It was not my first preference to don the bike gear, but once I wrapped my foggy morning brain around it, I proceeded to layer up the clothing. By the time I got to the helmet and Vulcan mitts I was confident I would manage whatever challenge today’s adventure would bring.

As I finished shoveling the walk, I said hi to a couple other cyclists who go past my house. I caught up with them at the lights and later chatted with one on the ascent near Confederation Park.

It was a messy commute with fresh thin snow combining with just enough mud spray to appreciate fenders. I was warm in my layers and even though I had to use caution, it was more fun than riding the bus.

The commute home in -12C was a little chilly, but the climb warmed me right up. There it is, bike commute 140 for this year.

Once home, I changed some of my layers and went back out for a nice 5k run. I doubled up on the mitts and having warm hands made a big difference in choosing 5k instead of taking a short cut home. The snow settled on the trees was lovely, and traction was ok. Run streak 148 is done, yay!

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

